This Old Old Farmhouse

CAM01952

We have now lived in this tiny old 116 year old farmhouse for 9 years. Nothing has fallen apart because it was already all broken when I moved in here. The plaster crumbling, no insulation, windows broken, painted shut, and some rotted, many layers of paint in places you would never plan to paint, a hole in the kitchen ceiling from a bathtub leak, no shower because, well…people didn’t have showers way back then………AND THE LIST GOES ON AND ON!

Sure, its tiny, quaint, unique, historic, but definitely NOT economical nor efficient. I found out that when you start to fix one thing you are opening up a can of worms…to say the least.

People that are familiar with construction, restoration and rehabing old homes are like…sure…what did you expect? It’s a huge project. Didn’t you know what you were getting yourself into!?!?

I sooooo love…

And…

Just a side note… I had to mention those that inspire me!

Honestly…How I could not possibly know what I was getting myself into is another story , but my response would still be NO. “No, I did not.” However, I have never backed down from a challenge. yes this house is a challenge to say the least. I am still loving the challenge and I am one hell of a determined woman! My husband will beg to differ I’m sure. Determined he will agree with, but he probably has a few more choice words to add to determined.

Anyhow, I have learned so much (and taught my IT Husband Geek and kids too). I have learned how to bleed my furnace if it accidentally runs dry and save myself $250, basic home construction such as balloon construction and what the heck that means, etc.A lot of hard work and learning and time.
CAM01785

20160629_202446This summer has been extreme for all of us though! I decided I would finally tackle rehabbing our windows with the hope that come winter it will cut down on our heating and electric bill.  I knew we couldn’t handle the price of new windows and installation.So the mega project began…

20160625_184833 20160423_193421 20160625_184816 CAM02055 CAM02063 20160627_202138

I repaired frames and sashes. Replaced glass and learned glazing. I made my own screens. Made new sills. Added new hardware. Learned more about tools.  Sanded, scraped, and hammered all summer long. All summer for two windows out of fifteen. Sounds crazy doesn’t it. I couldn’t be more proud of myself and they are beautiful!

CAM02123CAM02225

Leave a Reply

